Skip to content

Nemesis’ Book Cover Revealed

April 28, 2011

That’s right, I’m unveiling the book cover I designed for Nemesis. As you will see, I’m also leaving the title the way it is. There are a few reasons for this. 1) I just can’t think of a more appropriate title. 2) Nemesis has kind of stuck with me and I’ve been talking about it on Twitter forever nowย (under a different account). 3) The original title The Fox Den sucked. Yeah, right? Oh, and 4) As much as I LOVE Devil’s Dance Floor, it just wasn’t working for me, so it’s a chapter subtitle. ๐Ÿ™‚

I mentioned a different account. Well, if you know me, you’ll know I have several accounts. The NLGervasio account is the most professional one and the one I use for editing, writing, or publishing in general. I know, I really need to tweet more from that account. Or maybe I’ll just delete it and stick with the original. Who knows?

The “other” account is my personal twitter, and the one I started with nearly three years ago. Yes, I’ve been on Twitter that long. It frightens even me. When Nemesis releases, I *will* be tweeting about it from all accounts, including Nemy’s.

Moving on . . .

Before I reveal the beauty that is my book cover, I must first point out the artist who created said piece, which involves a small tale.

I was present during this photo shoot, and regardless of what Nemy looks like, I look nothing like her or any other pin-up model/girl, and I’m okay with that. The Dirty Russian was the photographer, my friend Rita was the model (for this particular shot), and a friend’s classic car was the prop. The entire day was entertaining as I watched Aleks (aka The Dirty Russian) and Brandon ofย Hooligan Photography work their magic. I even took a few pics myself, which are somewhere on my Facebook, I believe. There were three models that day.

As I stood in the alley while Aleks climbed up on a ladder to get the shot of Rita lying on the car’s hood, I thought, “Oh, I can’t wait to see that one!” I knew–I just knew–there was something special about that shot. I fell in love with it when he took the shot. I fell even more in love with it when he revealed the photo during a party at the house. And in the back of my head, I kept thinking, “That’s my picture. I’ll use that for something someday.” And here that someday is, after two years. That’s right, it’s been over two years since Hooligan Photography began and did that photo shoot. It’s been more than two years for a lot of things.

Oh, and have I mentioned that I wrote Nemesis two years ago? Yes, right around the time of that photo shoot, I was writing the book. Funny how life works, isn’t it?

So, without much further ado, I give you the cover for my Nemesis, the first book of my Kick-Ass Girls Club series, published by Running Ink Press.

Yeah, Rita? I’ll need you for the next cover because you really do look like Teagan!

So, what do you think?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Wulfie permalink
    April 28, 2011 9:11 am

    Wow, this has been in the works for a long time. Go you!

    Nice cover. Good choice.

    You must be beside yourself with excitement!? When is it coming out?

    WooHoo!

  2. April 28, 2011 9:31 am

    Wow, that cover is gorgeous! Congrats! Looking forward to reading Nemesis.

  3. NL Gervasio permalink*
    April 28, 2011 2:31 pm

    Thank you both so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. April 28, 2011 3:58 pm

    Oooh! I like it!!

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      April 28, 2011 9:00 pm

      Thanks! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m so excited about it!

  5. April 28, 2011 11:49 pm

    That is awesome!

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      April 29, 2011 12:05 am

      Thanks, Leona!

      Wulfie – I’m hoping it’ll be out mid to late May, if I can get those edits finished in time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. April 29, 2011 10:56 am

    Oh man! I mean, I say the pre-cover, but THAT LOOKS AWESOME!!!!!! Oh & I’m yelling….squee. Seriously, nice……I gotta get editing….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. April 29, 2011 11:06 am

    This is the final cover, Christel, and thanks. Glad you like it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m doing another round of edits now, so go ahead and send whenever you’re finished. I’m hoping to have that all done over the next week, and then I’ll send it to Sharon again.

  8. Michelle (Niassa) permalink
    May 3, 2011 6:24 am

    It looks FANTASTIC! Can’t wait to read it!

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      May 3, 2011 9:36 pm

      Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. June 12, 2011 9:26 am

    It is a great cover. I can see wanting to read it just based on the attitude shown. (I may or may not be the target demographic, but I am a reader and book reviewer.)

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      June 12, 2011 6:36 pm

      Thank you, Ben. Actually, some of my beta readers were men and they loved the book.

Leave a Reply

