Skip to content

On NaNoWriMo & Editing Nemesis

November 24, 2010

[tweetmeme source=”NLGervasio” service=”tinyurl.com”]

Yes, I know, I haven’t posted in a while. Life’s been hectic … and that’s only the beginning.

However …

I began NaNoWriMo with the best intentions this year … again. And once again, I have failed miserably. You’d think I’d be able to pull this feat off – writing a novel in a month – considering that I’ve written a novel in one weekend during the 3-day Novel contest that takes place every year over Labor Day weekend. But no. Last year, I’d started a YA novel. This year, it was fantasy/paranormal fantasy/something like that based on an idea I’d played around with a few months ago with the short story Fallen. Then I discovered that I could do a 3-book series with this wonderful shiny new idea, which isn’t really new because I’ve actually written the second book already. I wrote it a few years ago. I had a feeling it would belong to a series, but I really had no clue of the magnitude of potential it could become. The first book is tentatively titled Gods of War. The second, Dusk of Death. And the third, Dawn of Life. Pretty cool titles, huh? I’m the freakin’ title queen, except when it comes to Nemesis, which I’ll get to discussing in a moment. My point is that while I once again started NaNoWriMo, I’ve decided once more to shelve the project for a later date. Why? Keep reading.

What I need to finish is Nemesis, my main project for the past two years. I began writing this one almost exactly two years ago and finished it in two and a half months. Not too shabby. Life interrupted, which it really likes to do with me not on any small level, and I’ve been editing it for the last year and a half. You wouldn’t think it should take this long, but may I remind you —> Life. Now, I’m in the final edit and it’s looking good so far. I found a major plot hole last year when I took CJ Redwine‘s How to Write a Killer Synopsis workshop, and I’m happy to say that half the book has been adjusted. Now to finish it.

Which is what I’m doing right now.

So I just wanted to put up a quick post to let you know how I’m doing and what I’m doing. I hope to soon have some more helpful writing posts up. If you’re subscribed to my blog, you’ll get an email regarding those.

Thanks for stopping by and Happy Thanksgiving!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 1:33 pm

    Synopses are from the devil. STRAIGHT from the devil. Just sayin’. 😉

    I’m finishing Gothic, editing Wyckham House, and mulling over Office Politics. I have not gone past–what was it, Chapter 12?–of my edit of Nemesis bec you were going to be looking at it, fixing something. can’t remember now. Did you ever do that? Do I need to begin editing again?

    I have been a sadly absent, distracted CP/editor. Shameful.

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      November 24, 2010 1:36 pm

      It’s okay. I’ve been a sadly absent writer/CP/editor myself. Oh hey, I sent you an email about OP. Did you get it? Maybe you should check your email now and then. LOL

      And no, I haven’t fixed it yet. That’s what I’m working toward now. 🙂

  2. November 24, 2010 3:19 pm

    good luck! You can always try NaNoWriMo next year, and hopefully you won’t be in pain. <333 Life is a bitch, sometimes, too. Next year WILL be better, for both of us! I probably just jinxed (hehe) us. Don't hate me if I did. 😛

    Good luck, good luck, good luck!!! with editing Nemesis.

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      November 24, 2010 3:31 pm

      Thanks, sweetie. Don’t worry, you can’t jinx a Jinx. LOL Next year WILL be better for all! And then 2012 will come along …

Leave a Reply

