Skip to content

Shawn’s Character Interview

July 1, 2010

[tweetmeme source=”NLGervasio” service=”tinyurl.com”]

I’ve been attempting to get something written tonight and it’s just not happening, mainly because there’s a vamp talking—babbling would be more apropos—in my head, so I thought I’d interview him even though I missed the Character Interview Blogfest a couple of weeks back. Shawn never does like to do things on a schedule. I’ll give you fair warning, however. He likes to swear a lot. Oh, and it might be a bit long. He won’t shut up.

Shawn: I am not babbling. What I have to say is perfectly relevant. And if they don’t like my swearing, they can fuck off.

NLG: Shawn, we haven’t started the interview yet.

Shawn: Well get the ball rollin’, missy. I’ve got shit to do. *taps watch*

NLG: Fine. *shuffles papers* Shawn is one of my vamp characters who’s been around for quite some time now. Isn’t that right, Shawn?

Shawn: Yep. What’s it, like ten or so years now? *nods* Yeah, I think that’s about right because you wrote VP in ’99 and finished Gemini in ’07.

NLG: Actually, I finished it in ’06 around the same time I finished the first draft of Wolf’s Bane. You know how I like to work on more than one project at a time.

Shawn: Whatever. And I don’t know why you gotta write that “shuffles papers” shit. You’re typing this on your laptop while I sit on the sofa across from you.

NLG: Can we move forward? I figured this interview would be good, since he likes to interview others, which he will be doing again soon with author Missy Jane for her next book release.

Shawn: Oh, she writes that paranormal romance shit too, huh? What is it with you and that sex … oh, never mind.

NLG: *glares* What’s. Your. Full. Name?

Shawn: Shawn Austin de Laurent. Yeah, Austin, like the freakin’ city. Shut up. Trent’s middle name is Eugene. *snickers*

NLG: *rolls eyes* How old are you?

Shawn: 38 at the moment, but never look a day over 25. *grins* Unlike you.

NLG: Be nice. What’s your favorite item of clothing or personal item?

Shawn: My guns. Oh, and my Roy Rogers. Love these damn boots. *picks foot up to show* Nice, huh? *eyebrow jumps* I know you want a pair.

NLG: Not really. What’s your favorite room in your house, and why?

Shawn: Ha! I don’t stay in any house long enough to get a favorite one, but I’d probably have to say the bedroom. *waggles eyebrows*

NLG: *rolls eyes again* You walk into a restaurant or bar … what do you order to drink?

Shawn: I’d order a whiskey. Good shit, though. Not that cheap crap.

NLG: What do you consider good?

Shawn: Anything but Jim Beam. That shit is naaasty.

NLG: *shakes head* What do you consider to be your best physical feature/s?

Shawn: My eyes.

NLG: Your eyes are quite captivating with the opposite colors.

Shawn: Yes, I know. Chicks dig the shit out of that. You’re no exception.

NLG: Damn smug, aren’t you?

Shawn: You know it, babe.

NLG: And what is your worst physical feature/s – either looks or usefulness?

Shawn: Seriously? Uh, I got nuthin’ there. Everything works just fine and I’m fine with everything.

NLG: What about aside from physical features?

Shawn: You mean like emotions and shit? I’m not so good in the romance category. Does that count?

NLG: Yes, that counts. Why aren’t you good at that?

Shawn: *shrugs and looks away* Don’t really want to talk about that.

NLG: Sounds like communication is an issue as well.

Shawn: *glares* Drop it already.

NLG: *giggles* What’s your worst vice or habit?

Shawn: Smokes.

NLG: At the start of the story, what’s your highest priority?

Shawn: Kill something?

NLG: At the end?

Shawn: Kill something.

NLG: I see a pattern here.

Shawn: No shit. I like to kill.

NLG: Who are you closest to in your family (meaning your blood relatives)?

Shawn: My twin brother Trent. Everyone else is dead.

NLG: Who do you call in an emergency?

Shawn: Trent.

NLG: Who in your circle of family & friends could most likely betray you? Why?

Shawn: Anyone who isn’t Trent, because they’re not of my blood, nor are they my twin. I don’t trust anyone outside of him.

NLG: Alright then. Have you ever committed a crime? What was it and did you get caught?

Shawn: Ahahahaha! You really don’t want me to answer that. I’d have to kill you.

NLG: The hell you will. Okay, you find a wallet containing $500 cash and an ID. What do you do?

Shawn: Uh, keep the cash, drop the wallet.

NLG: Of course you would. Stupid question.

Shawn: Hey, you’re the one who came up with these.

NLG: Actually, no. I found them somewhere online.

Shawn: Really? Lazy bitch.

NLG: Watch it, vamp. I’ll sic Laylah on you again.

Shawn: *bends forward in fits of laughter* Oh please do! She’s fun.

NLG: *sighs* Do you have any pet peeves?

Shawn: Crying women.

NLG: That’s rather cold, don’t you think? We women are emotional creatures.

Shawn: Yeah, I know. I’m not talking about the regular normal crying shit you do that’s justified because you are emotional creatures. I’m talking about whiny, needy, crying so you can keep a man bullshit.

NLG: Damn, that’s harsh, but I get what you’re saying.

Shawn: You should. You’ve done it too.

NLG: ONE time, and it’s not a point in my life I’d like to highlight in YOUR interview. Shall we move on? What do you consider to be your biggest/greatest weakness?

Shawn: Nico, but she doesn’t know that.

NLG: What do you consider to be your greatest strength?

Shawn: Nico again. That girl can make the fuckin’ sun shine on a cloudy day. Er, don’t tell her I said that.

NLG: Were/are you a good student or learner?

Shawn: If I wasn’t, I wouldn’t be doing the shit I do for a living. Can’t be a stupid assassin. It’ll get you killed, and what good is a dead assassin? I mean, really.

NLG: Were/are you popular among your peers?

Shawn: Fuck yeah I was. I’m the life of the fuckin’ party.

NLG: What’s your credo/philosophy in life?

Shawn: Live and let live. *laughs* Okay, sorry. I’ll give you my favorite quote and you (readers) can sort it out from there: Learn to swim.

NLG: Good song.

Shawn: *grins* I know. Maynard’s the shit.

NLG: What is the biggest misconception about you?

Shawn: That I’m nice.

NLG: Yes, I’ve seen that one, but they truly don’t know you, do they?

Shawn: No, they don’t.

NLG: They just haven’t seen that side of you completely yet, have they?

Shawn: No, they haven’t, but I’m hoping you’ll fucking rectify that in the next book. *raises brow*

NLG: I’ll work on it. What has been your biggest accomplishment thus far?

Shawn: Oh man, that’s a tough one. I suppose it’d have to be admitting my feelings about Nico to myself. Still have to admit them to her, though.

NLG: Have you had any key regrets in your life?

Shawn: Piper.

NLG: Have you ever been in love? If so, when and with whom?

Shawn: Piper. You don’t need to know anymore.

NLG: That’s fine. The readers can read your blog for that.

Shawn: Yes. That was a bitch and a half to write too. Had me cursing your name every which way from Sunday on that one.

NLG: I don’t doubt it. What’s your faith or religion, if you have any? How does it define you (if at all)?

Shawn: Like you, I don’t believe in religion, but I respect how it works as a form of control. I’m all about control. *grins*

NLG: So do you believe in God?

Shawn: *leans forward* Have you read your own damn story? Where do you think all us vamps came from exactly?

NLG: It’s not for me, it’s for the readers of this blog, you nitwit. Those books are out of print now.

Shawn: *sits back* Oh, well in that case, yes, I believe in God. Fucker is the first of Mahlon’s kind, you know, and Mahlon created Cianán. And then that other god dude … what’s his name?

NLG: Crom.

Shawn: Yeah, that fucker created those other Dracove, where the immortal werewolf Vinny came from. You know the guy I’m talking about?

NLG: Yes, and I don’t think he’d take too kindly to you calling him Vinny. His name is Vincent.

Shawn: Whatever.

NLG: Do you have a secret? Something you’ve never told anyone or perhaps only a select few?

Shawn: No, and if I did, I wouldn’t tell your readers. Maybe you, likely Trent, but that’s it.

NLG: What is your most vivid childhood memory?

Shawn: The night my mother died. Trent talked about that recently on the blog, so I’m not gonna say anymore.

NLG: *nods* What’s your ultimate wish for your life – if you could have or do anything?

Shawn: Uh, I’m already immortal, so that’s a tough one. Maybe to have kids with Nico. *stares* What?

NLG: What do you hate most about yourself?

Shawn: Not a damn thing.

NLG: Don’t lie, Shawn.

Shawn: *grumbles* Okay, fine. I hate the fact that when I’m not around Trent, I tend to lean a bit more toward the darker side of life. You know, where I don’t give a shit about anyone or anything. Being around him makes my job damn hard, though, so it’s a fucked up situation any way you look at it.

NLG: *smiles* Thank you for that.

Shawn: *nods* Yeah, okay.

NLG: What is your innermost core fear? Why does that frighten you?

Shawn: I have no fears, woman.

NLG: So you’re not afraid of anything? You have no fears at all?

Shawn: *sits and stares off for a bit* Losing Nico.

NLG: Why?

Shawn: Because she’s the only other woman aside from Piper who fucking gets me, and I just can’t imagine spending an eternity without her.

NLG: *raises brow* Wow, Shawn, I had no idea!

Shawn: *glares* I hate you.

NLG: *smiles* Nah, you love me. I’ve given you life.

Shawn: Whatever, bitch. Can I leave now? I have some shit to do.

NLG: Sure. Don’t forget to pick up some flowers for Nico while you’re out.

Shawn: *stands up* Fuck off. And don’t you dare go into those innermost fear questions. Laters. *walks out door*

If you’d like to learn more about Shawn, you can find his blog here.


9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 11:23 am

    OMG! That was awesome! You guys crack me.

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      July 1, 2010 4:15 pm

      Thanks. He kills me. lol I could never interview the others. I don’t think they’d respond in the same manner that he does. He’s just fun to write.

  2. July 2, 2010 10:04 pm

    Aw, come on, Shawn, you know you’d share those secrets with me. 😉

  3. July 6, 2010 12:00 am

    Shut up, both of you! How do I change this fuckin’ thing? There’s gotta be a way. I’m gonna go find Trent.

  4. July 6, 2010 6:15 am

    Too Fun!

    This was cool. Really made me lust after your books too. 🙂

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      July 6, 2010 3:34 pm

      Yeah? Too bad they’re out of print now. lol I’m working on one here and there. It’ll stand alone and then I’ll rewrite the first two. 🙂

Leave a Reply

