Skip to content

Oh, the 10 Things that Make Me Grum … Happy

June 3, 2010

HC Palmquist tagged me because Aspiring Mama tagged her, and so on and so forth, and here I am writing this crazy blog about the things that make me happy when I should be editing something for someone else. Hmpf. Apparently, I needed the distraction.

We can just leave men completely out of the picture here, I think.

10. Rainy days – I love the rain and the thunder, and sitting outside to write. I can’t do that where I’m at now, but the thought of doing just that thing again someday makes me smile. It’s perfect writing weather and I’m usually grumpy if I don’t get a chance to write on days like those. The tricky part is using the laptop while there’s lightning out. Duh, you have to unplug it!

9. Cooking/Baking – I even have a recipe blog up (let’s face it, you all know I’m Jinxie anyway), but I may start a WordPress one just for that because I’d be able to split it into sections for main courses and desserts and such (thanks for that idea, Sharon!). I love to cook and when I cook, I use my grandmother’s recipes. Unfortunately, we’re not talking about the grandmother who knows the Italian recipes (I’ve had to create my own), we’re talking about the one who taught me all the Pennsylvania Dutch stuff. Dessert is, of course, one of my favorite things to make. If I’m baking around Christmastime, you just might get a care package of goodies. =)

8. Good books – I’m a very picky reader and a hard one to hook, so if you don’t catch and hold my attention for the first page and a half of your novel, I’ll set it down and walk away. Right now, my favorite book is The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan. Holy crap, was that an awesome book! Yes, it’s YA, but let me tell ya, it’s going to be difficult to top it.

7. Movies – good movies that pull me in like a good book and keep me so involved in the story that I don’t realize three hours have gone by. That is a good movie and a great escape, and I’m most appreciative of those.

6. CHOCOLATE! ‘Nuff said. Though this might fall in line with the cooking/baking happy. Nah, it should stand alone. It is chocolate after all.

5. My friends – CJ Redwine, who makes me laugh in fits, especially when I haven’t had much sleep. Consider yourself tagged! =p  Sharon Gerlach, my critique partner/editor/e-zine partner/friend/person who has to read me venting when I’m pissed off about whatever. She’s awesome and we’ve been through a lot together. I’m very happy we’re still friends. HC Palmquist, my roommate and chosen sister, critique partner, friend, and editor. She’s been there for me without knocking me down anytime I’m a little bit happy, which is what a friend should be like. She understands give and take, and makes no demands of me, and she doesn’t hold expectations of me that I can’t meet. Thanks, chica. I love you. And Deni, who always calls at the perfect moment.

4. My mother, of course, has to be in here somewhere, but here’s the thing – my mother has two sides to her: she makes me laugh and she drives me insane at the same time. I honestly didn’t think it was possible until this last year. Fear the Umi, people. She’s dangerous.

3. Hallowe’en – my favorite holiday. I know, I don’t even have kids, which is probably why I hate Christmas. =p

2. Writing – Of course I have to add this. It’s the reason I’m divorced and single again. Kidding. Not really. Ever watch Eddie Izzard?

1. Moon – my Alaskan malamute. She’s pretty much all I have left of my pack. Yep, it’s the dog that makes me the happiest, folks. She’s my child. Deal. Actually, she’s tied with the writing, which is why I put her in the books.

Anyone I would tag has already been tagged, of course, so … yeah. Is it Hallowe’en yet?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 9:57 pm

    Fear the UMI! That should be a bumper sticker! I love you too sis!

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      June 8, 2010 1:25 am

      I’m totally making that bumper sticker! I OWN that copyright, people! MINE!

  2. NL Gervasio permalink*
    June 3, 2010 10:02 pm

    Mocha frappuccinos fall into the chocolate category, btw. Those make me VERY happy!

  3. June 4, 2010 4:06 pm

    Aaawwwww, it takes more than friend-destroyers to get rid of me. 😉

    Rainy days!!! Oh, I love rainy days!! I needed more than 10 things.

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      June 4, 2010 4:07 pm

      I freakin’ love you! LOL

  4. June 7, 2010 1:39 pm

    I absolutely love Halloween too!

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      June 8, 2010 1:26 am

      I don’t even have to dress up for it. I just love decorating and everything. Live in kind of a secluded area now though, so I don’t think I’ll get kids here. =(

      • June 8, 2010 9:50 am

        Me too, love to decorate. We only get about 20 kids that night but I give them bigger candy.

Leave a Reply

