Skip to content

Interview with Missy Jane

February 3, 2011

I had the opportunity to dissect—I mean interview—romance author Missy Jane (@msmissyjane on Twitter) back in November for my magazine Forever Nocturne. She’s quite personable and an amazing writer, so here she is to give you some insights on writing and the publishing world.

What genre of books do you write, and do you read the same genre?

So far I’ve written paranormal romance that borderlines urban fantasy, and erotic romance. I do read those genres as well as other genres of romance. Plus I read horror, literary fiction and historical fiction.

What was your inspiration for They Call Me Death?

The main character, Alexia, popped into my head as a female soldier standing guard atop a wall and looking out over a bleak land. That scene came so vividly into my head I couldn’t shake it and her story was born.

I understand there will be a sequel to this one. Can you give us any indication on its release date?

Actually, though the sequel has been written, there is no release date. I’m sorry to say it was rejected by my editor with no hope for a rewrite. At the moment my shifters are in limbo but I’m working to resolve that.

What are some other books you’ve written?

I’ve written two other novellas and a short story and they are all erotic. Resignation and Two Week Trial are available through Sapphire Blue Publishing. Two Week Trial is available through Ellora’s Cave.

Can you name any authors that you absolutely MUST read the moment you see a new book of theirs out?

Oh yeah, there are a few. Lora Leigh, Kerrelyn Sparks, Lindsay Sands and Kresley Cole. Also, Stephen King and Stephen Lawhead. I’d say Laurell K. Hamilton is on that list for her Merry Gentry series, but I think I’m Anita Blaked out right now. I bought Bullet and even had it autographed, but haven’t read it yet.

Why do you write in general? What motivates or inspires you to write or is inspiration for your stories?

I began writing when a series I liked ended and I wasn’t ready to let go yet. That inspired me to write something akin to that world and those characters, though not exactly the same. I’m often inspired by what I read, though ideas hit me at odd times and sometimes for no reason. I thoroughly enjoy writing. I don’t know how a story is going to pan out until I’ve written it, so a lot of times I feel the urge to write just to know what happens.

How did you get started in the publishing industry? Contests, conferences, writing groups, etc.?

I hadn’t seriously considered getting published until I attended the Romantic Times magazine Romance Writer’s Convention in 2008. I took a beginning writer’s class led by Judi McCoy and she answered so many questions I didn’t even realize I had. She was awesome and very inspiring. It was just the kick in the butt I needed to get a submission ready.

Can you give any hints as to what’s in store for future books?

Absolutely. I’m gearing up for NaNoWriMo and this year I’m working on a gargoyle story. It’s paranormal romance all the way. I’ve also begun two other shifter stories (Katori and Sandulf) that I may or may not submit to Samhain. Plus I’ve completed a story about an arch angel. It needs some tweaking but may be ready for submission before anything else.

Tell our readers what books of yours are available and where they can purchase them.

They Call Me Death is the paranormal story of shape-shifters versus humans. It’s available in print as well as e-book format (click on the book for the link)

Resignation is an erotic tale of love found at the office.

Love in Disguise is an erotic short story set on Halloween.

Two Week Trial is a contemporary, erotic, fairy-tale type story of unrequited desire sparking up again after a few years of separation.

There are excerpts available for all of the books at the given links.

 

Any advice to aspiring authors out there on where to start in publishing?

Right now I’m with three different publishers and they all have pros and cons. My advice is to do your homework. Make sure you read up on a publisher’s particular tastes before spending the time on a submission. And most importantly, don’t give up. It’s not hard to get discouraged after a rejection but don’t let it keep you down. There are millions of readers out there. Your work will find a home.

 

Educating Macey is Missy’s latest release (click on the cover for the link).

Sex has taken a backseat on my priorities list for a while now—being a single mother never allowed me the chance to dwell on it. But then my daughter grew up and Max moved in next door. Just seeing his sexy-as-hell body and hearing the way he growls my full name, Macey Lane, gets me all hot and bothered. I am not a woman of experience, but Max is more than willing to teach me. His lesson plans may be too delicious to pass on, but is hot sex worth the risk of becoming another of his conquests?

 

Thank you, Missy, for stopping by. I wish you the best of luck and *ahem* I’d really like to read the sequel to They Call Me Death. *winks*


4 Comments leave one →
  1. christel42 permalink
    February 3, 2011 11:48 am

    Oy vie! I gotta stop reading all these interviews?! They are ultimately going to cost me a fortune in books! LOL

  2. February 4, 2011 1:55 pm

    Thanks again for the interview, hon! I sincerely appreciate you exposing your readers to me (hehehe)
    Christel, I know how you feel. I suffer from the same book buying malady ;-)

    • NL Gervasio permalink*
      February 4, 2011 2:02 pm

      You’re hysterical, girl, and you’re welcome! Love ya! :D

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Interview with Missy Jane « Unclouded Perspicacity -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

